A client signs off on a hero image for their product launch. Two weeks later a competitor’s landing page shows something uncannily close, and the client asks you one question: where did this image come from, and who else can see it? If you made it on the wrong plan of the wrong tool, the honest answer is “a public gallery, and anyone.”
That is why this comparison ranks AI image tools on the things a freelancer has to answer for, not on which one draws the prettiest hands. For each of six tools we checked the official pricing and terms pages on September 24, 2026 and asked four questions: what the cheapest useful plan costs, whether images are public by default, what the terms say you own, and what the tool forbids you from doing with the output. Prices change often in this category, so treat every figure as dated.
Six tools, four questions, one table
| Tool | Cheapest paid plan (checked Sep 24, 2026) | Public by default? | Ownership / commercial use per the vendor | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe Firefly | Standard, $9.99/mo, 2,000 credits + unlimited standard image generations | Not stated on the plans page | Adobe says outputs from Firefly’s own models are safe for commercial use | Partner models (GPT Image, Gemini, FLUX) are on you, not Adobe |
| Canva | Pro, $144/year for one person | No, designs stay private unless shared | You own your output, “at your own risk” | AI edits of Canva library photos are licensed, not owned |
| ChatGPT | Plus, $20/mo, monthly billing only | Not stated in the Plus terms | OpenAI assigns its rights in the output to you | You may not present output as human-made |
| Ideogram | Plus, $20/mo or $15/mo billed yearly ($180) | Yes, on every plan until you switch to private | Ideogram claims no ownership; commercial use allowed | Private generation starts at Plus |
| Midjourney | Basic, $10/mo or $96/year | Yes, unless you pay for Stealth Mode | General commercial terms on all paid plans | Stealth Mode needs Pro ($60/mo); businesses over $1M revenue must be on Pro or Mega |
| Recraft | Any paid plan | Yes on Free; private on paid | Free-plan images belong to Recraft; paid images are yours | Free images do not become yours after you upgrade |
Sources for each row are linked in the sections below. Where a vendor’s page did not state something clearly, the table says so instead of guessing.
Free plans that publish your work
Three of the six tools default to publishing what you make, and two of them keep doing it on some paid plans too.
Recraft is the strictest. Its pricing page FAQ says images generated on the Free plan “are owned by Recraft,” appear in the community gallery and are not licensed for commercial use. Its ownership FAQ adds the rule that catches people out: ownership is fixed at the moment of generation. A logo concept you drafted on Free stays Recraft’s even if you subscribe the next day. On a paid plan you get full ownership and commercial rights, the images stay private, and they stay yours after you cancel. The one lasting restriction is that you cannot use them to train AI models.
Ideogram publishes every image by default, according to its pricing page. Plus and Pro subscribers can generate unpublished images and unpublish old ones, and only they can delete images. On rights, Ideogram says it does not claim ownership and you can use generations commercially. So on Free the problem is exposure rather than ownership.
Midjourney has no private option below Pro. Its plan comparison lists Stealth Mode only on Pro ($60 a month) and Mega ($120). Every paid tier gets the same general commercial terms, with one condition: a company grossing more than $1,000,000 a year has to be on Pro or Mega.
Where each tool earns its place
You already live in Adobe or Canva
If you design in Adobe apps, Firefly Standard at $9.99 a month is the cheapest paid plan in this list, and the Firefly plans page says every paid plan includes unlimited standard image generations. Credits are only spent on premium features like video and partner models. Adobe’s commercial-safety claim rests on training Firefly models on licensed and public-domain content. The same FAQ makes the limit plain: if you pick a partner model inside Firefly, deciding whether that output suits the project is your responsibility. IP indemnification is only offered to eligible enterprise customers, not to a freelancer on Standard.
Canva Pro costs $144 a year on the Canva pricing page and comes with an estimated 200 uses of Premium AI tools a month (Free gets about 20). Canva’s AI Product Terms (effective June 26, 2026) give you ownership of your output, but not when the output modifies Canva library content. Use AI to edit a stock photo from the library and you only hold a license to the result. The same terms forbid stripping provenance metadata such as C2PA tags, and the AI output indemnity (Canva Shield) is listed as unavailable on Pro.
The image has to carry words
Posters, thumbnails, packaging mockups and social graphics with a headline are where Ideogram built its reputation, and the pricing reflects a tool for regular users: Plus at $15 a month on yearly billing gets you 1,000 priority credits, unlimited slow generations and private generation. There are no free trials and no discounts, per its FAQ. If you produce text-heavy graphics every week, this is the cheapest way to make them privately.
You deliver logos, icons or vectors
Recraft is the tool here most focused on vector output and brand assets (Firefly also offers text-to-vector), which makes it the most relevant for designers handing over logo files. It is also the tool where the Free plan is least usable for client work, for the ownership reasons above. Decide before you start a client project, not after.
Look matters more than anything else
Midjourney still attracts people who care about aesthetics above all. The practical question for a freelancer is whether $50 a month more buys something you need. Basic at $10 includes 200 minutes of fast GPU time and general commercial terms, but everything you create is visible to other users. Pro at $60 adds Stealth Mode and 30 fast hours.
You only need a decent image now and then
ChatGPT Plus is $20 a month, billed monthly with no annual option, per OpenAI’s Plus help article. Image generation is one feature among many, which makes it good value if you already pay for it as a writing or research tool and a poor buy if images are all you need. OpenAI’s Terms of Use (effective January 1, 2026) assign you the vendor’s rights in your output. They also warn that output may not be unique, since other users can receive similar results.
Get the free Freelancer Tool Stack
The annual price of keeping client work private
If you create images for clients, the plan that matters is the cheapest one that keeps work out of public galleries and gives you usable rights. Here is that price per year, worked out from the list prices above (our arithmetic, September 24, 2026):
| Tool | Cheapest private + commercial setup | Per year | Cheapest public option | Privacy premium per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe Firefly | Standard, monthly | $119.88 | Free daily generations | n/a (no public gallery stated) |
| Canva | Pro, yearly | $144 | Free, ~20 AI uses/mo | n/a (private by default) |
| Ideogram | Plus, yearly | $180 | Free, weekly slow credits | $180 |
| ChatGPT | Plus, monthly | $240 | Free, limited images | n/a (not stated) |
| Midjourney | Pro, yearly ($48/mo) | $576 | Basic, yearly: $96 | $480 |
| Recraft | Any paid plan | See pricing page | Free (Recraft owns output) | Not comparable: Free gives no rights |
The spread is what stands out. Keeping Midjourney work private costs $480 a year on top of its cheapest plan. That is four Firefly Standard subscriptions, or more than three years of Canva Pro. Unless Midjourney’s look is part of what clients pay you for, that premium is hard to justify for a solo business.
“You own it” is not the same as copyright
Every paid tool above says, in some form, that you own your output. That settles things between you and the vendor. It does not make the image protectable. In the US, courts have held that copyright requires a human author: the D.C. Circuit’s decision in Thaler v. Perlmutter upheld the refusal to register a machine-generated image, as summarized in Wikipedia’s article on AI and copyright. A purely generated image may therefore be hard to stop a competitor from copying, whatever your subscription says.
Two vendor rules also shape what you tell clients. OpenAI’s terms forbid representing output as human-generated, and Canva’s AI terms prohibit misleading anyone that AI content is human-made. If your contract says the deliverables are original work, add a line that discloses AI-assisted assets. If you are writing that contract now, our guide to what goes in a freelance welcome packet is a good place to set expectations early. When the project ends, list AI-generated files separately in your client handover so the client knows what they can and cannot register.
Who this is for, and who can skip it
It is for you if images are part of what you deliver: social media managers, content marketers, newsletter writers who make their own headers, and designers using AI for concepts. If you manage social accounts, our list of AI tools for freelance social media managers covers the scheduling and caption side. Designers deciding how much AI to allow in their process should read how the risks differ for writers and designers.
Skip it if the only images you need are blog headers for your own site. Any free tier works, and the public-gallery issue barely matters for your own marketing. Skip the paid tiers as well if a client supplies brand photography, because editing their photos is a different job from generating new ones.
A short rule for choosing
Start from the software you already pay for. If you have Adobe, use Firefly’s own models for client work. If you have Canva Pro, use its generator and keep it away from library photos. Add Ideogram Plus only if text-in-image is weekly work. Pay for Midjourney Pro only if clients hire you for that look. To keep your whole stack cheap, compare these against the rest of our freelance software stack under $30 a month.
More comparisons like this live in our AI Writing & Content section.
Get the free Freelancer Tool Stack
The 18 tools that run a one-person business — invoicing, contracts, time, AI writing, automation and money. One checklist, no fluff.